Speakers and Events

Speakers for the 2009-2010 Academic Year:

  • Friday, Sept. 11: Robert Johnson, (Dartmouth College), "Accounting for Intermediates: Production Sharing and Trade in Value Added* ", 2 p.m., Hamilton College, KJ 201. (paper)
  • Friday, Sept. 25: Derek Laing, (Syracuse University), "Decision Making as Epiphany: A Search Based Model of Limited Rationality", 2 p.m., Colgate University, 226 Persson Hall. (paper)
  • Friday, October 9: Emily Conover, (Hamilton College), "Effects of Colombia's Social Protection System on Workers' Choice between Formal and Informal Employment", 3 p.m., Hamilton College, KJ 201.
  • Friday, October 23: Emily Owens, (Cornell University), "Are underground markets really more violent? Evidence from early 20th century America", 2 p.m., Colgate University, 226 Persson Hall. (paper)
  • Friday, November 13: Dean Scrimgeour, (Colgate University), "Dynamic Scoring in a Romer-Style Economy", 2 p.m., Colgate University, 226 Persson Hall . (paper)
  • Friday, December 4: David Toomey, (Hamilton College), "No Need to Fight: A New Mechanism for Resolving Disputes", 3 p.m., Hamilton College, KJ 201. (paper)
  • Friday, December 11: Davide Cantoni, (Harvard University), "The Economic Effects of the Protestant Reformation: Testing the Weber Hypothesis in the German Lands", 2 p.m., Colgate University, 226 Persson Hall. (paper)
  • Friday, January 29: Pam Jakiela, (Washington University St. Louis), "Does America Need a Rotten Kin Theorem? Experimental Evidence from Village Economies", 2 p.m., Colgate University, 226 Persson Hall. (paper)
  • Friday, February 5: Fidan Ana Kurtulus, (University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and Rutgers University), "The Effect of Dissimilarity on the Performance of Employees", 2 p.m., Colgate University, 226 Persson Hall. (paper)
  • Friday, February 26: Maria Carolina Caetano, (UC Berkeley and University of Rochester), "A Discontinuity Test of Endogeneity", 2 p.m., Hamilton College, KJ 201. (paper)
  • Friday, March 12: Gregorio Caetano, (University of Rochester), "Estimation of Parental Valuation of School Quality in the U.S.", 2 p.m., Hamilton College, KJ 201. (paper)
  • Friday, March 26: Matt Levy, (RWJ Fellow), "Habit Formation and Naiveté in Gym Attendance: Evidence from a Field Experiment", 2 p.m., Colgate University, 226 Persson Hall. (paper)
  • Friday, April 2: David Owens, (Haverford College), "An Experimental Analysis of Observational Learning with Payoff Externalities", 2 p.m., Colgate University, 226 Persson Hall. (paper)
  • Friday, April 9: Paulina Oliva, (University of California, Santa Barbara and IFPRI), "Environmental Regulations and Corruption: Automobile Emissions in Mexico City", 2 p.m., Hamilton College, KJ 201. (paper)
  • Friday, April 23: Jim Poterba, (MIT), "The Effect of Taxes on Shareholder Inflows Around Mutual Fund Distribution Dates", 2 p.m., Hamilton College, KJ 201. (paper)